Skip to content

At the library

May 7, 2009

I love the Philological Library at FU Berlin. Then again, I love any place with books. Sometimes, this leads to interesting discoveries.

Norman Foster Library FU Berlin

Die Philologische Bibliothek @ FU Berlin

Right now, for example, I’m supposed to be finishing up my paper on Afghanistan (more on that shortly). Which I’m not, as you can tell.

But still, this place has a fascination for me. Thousands of books staked on shelfs, each one with a story to tell. Its design and architecture is fantastic, by Sir Norman Foster. Check out more pictures here, the one in this post is by svenwerk.

I’ve always loved reading (my mom sometimes threatens to release photographic evidence of me absorbed in a book at about age 4). My dream house definitely has a library, and I’m always a little confused with people who don’t like to read. It says something about one’s character if you’re able to let a story draw you in and set off your imagination.

So this is a little paradise for me, even though I have to study. Once, when trying to evade that, I stumbled upon the book “All Quiet on the Western Front” (“Im Westen nichts Neues”) by Erich Maria Remarque. They had an old edition of it, with a worn-out cover and old-fashioned typewriting. It’s amazingly well-written and very impressive. It takes you so close to the scene. It’s one of my all time favorite books.

Even though it is about World War I, I feel it still applies in a scary way. Apparently, we haven’t gotten much smarter since then. Even though their are so many books to learn from.

From → Personally...

One Comment
  1. Wurzelkönig :D permalink

    Du hast ja oft vom Thema abgekommen! Bibo, lernen, Afghanistan, Bücher, lesen, Im Westen nichts Neues, usw, haha. Aber es ist ja nur n blog, so man kann die Regeln ignorieren, oder?

    Oftmals haben meine Freunde Blogs gehabt als sie im Ausland waren, aber schrieb nur für die erste paar Wochen/Monaten. Ich hoffe, dass du öfter schreibst. Und du bist ne Journalistin, so du hast ja keine Ausrede! 🙂

    Schönen Tag!

    Der Wurzelkönig 😛

Leave a Reply

